Wednesday, August 18, 2010



Shows considered include Les Miserables, Wizard of Oz, Holiday Reunion, Grease, CATS

El Dorado Hills, CA - With forty-three nominations, El Dorado Musical Theatre tops the list of 2010 Elly Award nominees announced Sunday, August 15, at the Arden Playhouse in Sacramento. The Ellys, which recognize outstanding achievement in community theater, are sponsored by Sacramento Area Regional Theatre Alliance.
EDMT submitted five shows for judging from its 2009-2010 season with Wizard of Oz receiving 15 nominations, Les Miserables with 13, Cats receiving 8, Grease totaled 6, and the EDMT original production of Holiday Reunion received one nomination.
EDMT Founder Debbie Wilson personally received eight nominations, including four for direction, and four for choreography. When asked about the nominations Wilson remarked, “I’m honored that EDMT received so many nominations. It is a sign that we are consistently doing good work, and considered among the best at what we do in the region. It is very validating.”

Other members of the EDMT artistic and technical staff were recognized as well with three nominations for Musical Direction going to Jennifer Martin, three to Louis Hudson for Lighting Design, and two to Christine Martorana for Costume Design. Also receiving nominations for set design were Louis Hudson, Dennis Smith, Charles Davidson and Stephanie Hudson.

Nominations for leading actor or actress included Matt Provencal, Heather Clark, Katherine Sorgea, Savannah Argyle, Terry Hicks, Andrew Wilson, Brian Farmer, Stephen Sorgea, Krista Mackin, and Spencer Borup many of whom had multiple nominations.
Those receiving nominations for supporting actor or actress are Christopher Meissner, Jacob Goodyear, Lauryn Caruso, Jordan Sharp, Maddie Frey, Braiden Wells, Heather Clark, Andrew Wilson and Katherine Sorgea, again with several receiving multiple nominations.

EDMT Executive Producer Wade Sherman said, “Our performers and staff work extremely hard to give our audiences the best theater experience possible. We are happy to see that hard work has been recognized. We are looking forward to continuing the tradition of quality production values that have been established here as we prepare to enter our tenth season.”

The Ellys are named after Eleanor McClatchy, the late president of McClatchy Newspapers. McClatchy, who died in 1980, was a dedicated performing-arts patron who supported and encouraged theater in the region.

About El Dorado Musical Theatre: EDMT is an award winning regional theater company based in El Dorado Hills, California featuring performers aged 6-20. EDMT was founded in 2001. EDMT produces five major productions per year. The 2010-11 Season includes, “A Christmas Carol”, “Hairspray”, “Anything Goes”, “Disney’s Alice in Wonderland, Jr.”, and “Curtains. Additionally, EDMT produces an annual training show for performers aged 5-9, no experience is required. This year’s training show is “The Frog Princess.” Most performances take place at the Jill Solberg Theater on the campus of Folsom High School. For more information visit or call (916)941-SING.

No comments: